Film and TV Charity supports emerging voices with £60,000 in talent development awards

The awardees in the first round of the Film and TV Charity’s John Brabourne Awards in 2020 have been announced, with a total of £60,000 going to 12 up and coming voices in the industry.

The Charity has awarded a total of £60,000 to 12 talented writers, producers, directors, distributors and exhibition professionals, enabling them to continue to develop their projects and careers.

Awardees in this round include Screen International Star of Tomorrow writer/director Moin Hussain (2018), who is now in development on his first original feature for Escape Films and Film4.

The Charity’s only talent development award, which runs twice a year, provides up to £5,000 to cover expenses ranging from development to training, production and living costs. The awards are open to individuals from a broad range of disciplines and backgrounds, helping them to overcome barriers and realise career changing projects or take vital next steps in the industry.

Awardees in this round include Chloe Abrahams, a British Sri Lankan filmmaker and moving image artist previously shortlisted for New Contemporaries, who has worked in film marketing for Dogwoof and as a programmer for short documentary festival Cheap Cuts, and who is now developing her first feature documentary.

Awardee Dhivya Kate Chetty is a Liverpool-based documentary filmmaker with an interest in intimate, moving stories that touch on issues of migration and racism. Originally from Glasgow, Dhivya’s last project, Glasgow, Love And Apartheid, had its world premiere at Glasgow Film Theatre as part of Black History Month in 2019.

The charity has also awarded a grant to director Dominic Davey to continue production on short film Eshet Chayil, a project also supported by the Pears Short Film Fund at UK Jewish Film.

Half Māori writer/director Taratoa Stappard, supported by the imagineNATIVE 2020 Indigenous Screenwriting Intensive programme, which celebrates indigenous screenwriters and filmmakers worldwide, has received a grant to develop his first feature, Mārama.

Alex Pumfrey, CEO of the Film and TV Charity, said: “We’re incredibly proud of our John Brabourne Awardees. The cohort in this round demonstrates a remarkable breadth of talent and passion. These awards welcome individuals from a broad range of backgrounds and experiences, bringing unique perspectives to the industry. Our goal is to provide the financial and emotional support that people need, helping them to realise fantastic, creative projects and have a more prominent voice in the industry.”

The Film and TV Charity has distributed more than £3.6m in Covid-19 Emergency Relief and Support Grants this year, and runs a range of financial and mental wellbeing support services such as their 24-hour helpline, accessible to everyone who works behind the scenes in the industry. All of the charity’s services are funded by voluntary donations and the charity is actively fundraising to continue to provide these. Those interested in donating should contact the charity’s Head of Fundraising [email protected]

The 12 awardees are (in alphabetical order by surname): 

  • Chloe Abrahams
  • Abraham Adeyemi
  • Kyla Simon Bruce
  • Dhivya Kate Chetty
  • Dominic Davey
  • Emily Everdee
  • Jack Benjamin Gill
  • Moin Hussain
  • Elettra Pizzi
  • Kate Phibbs 
  • Taratoa Stappard
  • Jonny Tull

Read more about the 12 awardees here